Thea Foundation’s

2018-19 Statewide Impact

Since 2001, Thea Foundation’s statewide impact has grown each year to better serve Arkansas and further our continued mission to advocate the importance of Arts for the development of our youth. In 2018-19, Thea’s three areas of programming changed lives across the state, including providing the much-needed support for Arkansas public school teachers as well as awarding annual scholarships to a new graduating class of high school seniors.

Thea Scholarships

Thea’s annual scholarships remain a key resource for helping young people across the state receive financial help for higher education. Each of the six art-based competitions provide Arkansas seniors with an opportunity to find money for college based on their talent alone. Our first scholarship was awarded in 2002, and we’ve awarded more than $2.3 million in scholarships to Arkansas students since then. In 2019, we increased our amount of available scholarships from 30 to 36. During the 2019 scholarship season, we saw student participation from all over the state. 


Although Thea Foundation does not anticipate every student to explore furthering their education specifically in the arts, the 2019 winners do include students now attending prominent art schools, including The Savannah College of Art and Design as well as The University of the Arts in Philadelphia.