• Thea Foundation


The Thea Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 3rd annual Poetry Slam Scholarship Competition for high school seniors, which took place at the Thea Center on Saturday, March 22, 2013. Little Rock’s poet laureate Chris James emceed the event, and 5 highly qualified language arts professionals, including central Arkansas’s own Lisa Bailey, Ericka Benedicto, Kita “Krysis” Marshall, Leron McAdoo and Stacey McAdoo, judged the event. The Thea Foundation is honored by the opportunity to award students talented in performance poetry. Each participant displayed incredible poignancy and articulation, making the judging process very difficult. Each poet was required to perform up to 3 original poems from memory. In addition, they were expected to demonstrate proficiency in poetry and its artistic delivery.