top of page
  • Thea Foundation

2015 Slam Poetry Scholarship Winners


From left to right: Latavian Johnson, Corey Philpot and Kaitlynn Williams

March 21, 2015, Thea Foundation hosted its 3rd annual Slam Poetry Scholarship Competition, which drew students from as far away as El Dorado and Hot Springs. The traditional slam competition required high school seniors to perform three original poems in front of an audience and judges involved in the writing and poetry fields. Little Rock slam poet Chris James emceed the event.

Little Rock Central High student Latavian Johnson took 1st place and a $4,000 scholarship, and Hot Springs High School student Corey Philpot took 2nd place and a $2,500 scholarship. Kaitlynn Williams, of El Dorado High School, was an honorable mention.

#slampoetry #poetry #scholarship #competition #theafoundation #chrisjames #kaitlynnwilliams #argenta #arkansas

bottom of page