top of page
  • Thea Foundation

2016 Poetry Slam Scholarship Winners

From left to right, 1st place winner Amirrah Majeed and 2nd place winner Tahmadiyya Dawson.

Young poets from as far away as Rogers, Arkansas, and as close as Little Rock performed their original works of spoken word on the stage at Thea Foundation Saturday, May 19, at Thea's 2016 Poetry Slam Scholarship Competition. It was a tough call for the judges, all poetry teachers and/or nationally recognized slam poets, but two winners were announced and applauded by the entire group of poets and audience members that day.

Congratulations to Amirrah Majeed, who took the $4,000 1st place scholarship, and Tahmadiyya Dawson, who claimed the $2,500 2nd place Diamond Fiberglass Scholarship! Both winning students attend Little Rock Central High School.

bottom of page