top of page
  • Thea Foundation

Thea Foundation Names Trish Roberson Board President and Announces New Board Members

Thea Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of Trish Roberson as board president and the addition of two new members to the Thea Foundation Board of Directors. The changes kick off the beginning of the 2020-21 service year as Thea’s programs prepare to help amplify arts education and creative learning in Arkansas public schools during the new school year beginning in August. After serving as vice president of the board since 2019 and the Into the Blue chair, Roberson continues to passionately advocate for Thea Foundation’s mission since becoming a donor in 2015. With a love for the arts since a child, Roberson also curates and sells art as the owner of Roberson's Fine Jewelry.

"Helping young Arkansans discover their creative potential and gain confidence through arts education is something I'm proud to take part in while serving as the Thea Foundation Board President," said Roberson. 

Other new additions to Thea’s leadership for its board of directors include Joi Pryor as vice president, Dave Hawsey as secretary and Rusty Guerra as treasurer. Thea Foundation also congratulates Gert Clark and Zachary Riley for their years of dedication while serving on the Thea Foundation Board of Directors as their time as active board members comes to an end.

"There’s no doubt the inspiring individuals who have comprised the Thea Foundation Board of Directors throughout the years have made all the difference in the success of our programs across the state of Arkansas," said Thea Foundation Executive Director Nick Leopoulos.

In turn, the organization welcomes brand-new board members Jeremy Mitchell and Alex Montez. The two professionals bring fresh energy to the Thea Foundation Board of Directors along with a charismatic love for the arts and an understanding of the importance of the arts in the development of our youth. The organization looks forward to ways in which the dynamic board members help further Thea's impact in Arkansas public schools.

Meet Jeremy Mitchell 

Jeremy Mitchell grew up in a farming family in Southeast Arkansas.  He attended Watson Chapel schools, and at Watson Chapel, Mitchell discovered his love for the arts, participating in various school sponsored art programs. After graduating from high school, he attended the University of Central Arkansas and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock where he studied business. 

Mitchell enjoys all things Arkansas Razorback sports, including attending as many events as possible. He also enjoys traveling both domestically and internationally—often attending cultural and arts events as part of his travels. His favorite city is New Orleans because of its rich culture and arts scene. He has a fondness for pop art and art that makes a statement, especially works by Warhol and Banksy.

Mitchell spent several years volunteering for the Special Olympics of Arkansas, and he especially enjoyed his time volunteering for the Law Enforcement Torch Run—a program that helps raise money for the Special Olympics and helps define the participants as athletes and not define them by their disabilities.

Meet Alex Montez

Alex Montez was raised and educated in Fayetteville, Arkansas. He attended Fayetteville public schools before earning a BSBA degree from the University of Arkansas. Montez currently serves as the vice president of sales and business development for EMK3, a privately-held software company headquartered in Plano, Texas. EMK3 provides software solutions for the energy industry.

Montez previously spent 22 years in the investment banking business. He held senior positions with Merrill Lynch Capital Markets, Citibank and Morgan Keegan as a fixed income sales and business development professional. Montez loves all forms of visual and performing arts, particularly music—ranging from Chopin Nocturnes to the rock blues guitar of Mark Knopfler. He has served on the Board of Wildwood Park for the Arts and is an active member of Argenta United Methodist Church. Montez has three children: Maura, Alexa, and Stuart and a grandson, Ezequiel.

Thea Foundation’s 2020-21 Board of Directors

President, Trish Roberson

Vice President, Joi Pryor

Secretary, Dave Hawsey

Treasurer, Rusty Guerra

Michelle Browning

Brad Cushman

Janet Davis 

Joseph Griffith

Sharon Heflin

Lea May

Jeremy Mitchell

Alex Montez

Daniel Oberste

Robert O'Neal

bottom of page